The PRSAS standards have been established with the pulmonary rehabilitation community and are based on the British Thoracic Society's (BTS) quality standards. The framework used is based on the British Standard Institution (BSI) specification for accreditation of clinical services.

Services demonstrate they are meeting the standards, by uploading evidence onto an online platform. For example, to demonstrate effective patient experience, the evidence requirements will include a policy, survey responses and actions taken as a result of the feedback.

The standards cover all aspects of a high-quality PR service and are organised into seven domains:

1. Leadership, strategy and management


3. Person centred treatment and/or care


5. Clinical effectiveness


7. Improvement, innovation and transformation


2. Systems to support service delivery


4. Risk and safety


6. Staffing a clinical service



Who is eligible to register with PRSAS and to work towards accreditation?

The following types of pulmonary rehabilitation services are eligible to register to be part of the accreditation programme:

  • Standalone PR services
  • PR services that are part of wider respiratory services 
  • PR services provided by private providers 

Services must be NHS commissioned and be adhering to or working towards meeting the British Thoracic Society’s Quality Standards for Pulmonary Rehabilitation and the NHS England PR Service Guidance (services in England only).

If you have any questions about the PRSAS standards, please contact the team on 0203 075 1407 or

Please read carefully and take any action requested - this message will not be shown the next time you log in